Secrets of Empowerment: Life Lesson Part 4

Whisper
43 min readNov 8, 2020

For some reason during that talk in February, I felt like she was blaming me for feeling like a fake nerd and fake therapeutic therapist. But it did strike me while she talked, that it is true that she isn’t a real therapeutic therapist…as I thought about it, I realized how that could be said about many therapists. They are not only relaxation necessarily, but they are not real therapeutic therapists either. I wasn’t sure about the nerdy part…she is nerdy enough I guess…can you be a pseudo-nerd? But I couldn’t let her blame me for that…so I tried to reassure her. “You are not a fake nerd! You can say your style is both therapeutic and relaxing. Which is what you like most anyway. Everyone has their own style and focus. Maybe you could call yours a Feel Good Feel Better massage, since it is mostly symptom management…or a pseudo-therapeutic. And how am I supposed to know that they don’t really want therapeutic massage when that is what they tell me and then lie to me when I ask them if it is too much?”

“Everyone wants what I do. That is how you know. And the people that don’t, will still benefit from it anyway. So just do what I do.” I ignored her. What she just said made no sense! “Maybe I should be looking for a specific body language that will clue me in?”

“Everyone wants to feel good.” It went on like that. Schmidt repeating that no one wants what I do and the people that do will still benefit from a massage that they have to have over and over again for a little temporary pain relief. I just ignored the…

--

--

Whisper
0 Followers

I have studied physiology, psychology, sociology, physics, neurology, music, dance, art. I love to learn! I am autistic and a survivor of traumas.